Online Reference Guide


Select the County where the citation was received to begin

Defensive Driving Course
The Delaware DMV may consider the satisfactory completion of a Defensive Driving course, approved by the Delaware Department of Insurance, as a 3-point credit when determining driver penalties.
Your Delaware License
Citations or traffic tickets are issued in the State of Delaware for various violations of traffic law. Citations generally indicate the statute or code number of the violation, and explain how and when to pay the fine or respond to the ticket.
County Matters
Regardless of where you live, you must follow the rules and laws of the county where the citation was received. Select the county from the list above.

Know the Facts

Click on any of the topics below to learn more.


You can lose your privilege to drive by receiving too many points on your license within a certain amount of time. You will be subject to specific penalties if you accumulate a certain number of points on your driving license. All actions will be based on total calculated points within a 24 month period after the offense. Click on the topics below to view the details.


  Traffic Violations & Points Assessed     Accumulation of Points and Suspensions  
  8 points advisory letter  

Speeding up to 9 mph over posted speed

  12 points

Driver must complete a behavior modification/attitudinal-driving course with-in 90 days after notification (unless extended by DMV). Failure to comply or upon preference of the driver, mandatory 2-month suspension will be imposed.  
  Speeding 10 - 14 mph over posted speed
  14 points Mandatory 4-month license suspension  
  Speeding 15 - 19 mph over posted speed
  16 points Mandatory 6-month license suspension  
  Speeding 20 mph or more over posted speed
  18 points Mandatory 8-month license suspension  
  Passing a Stopped School Bus
  20 points Mandatory 10-month license suspension  
  Reckless Driving
  22 points Mandatory 12-month license suspension  
  Disregarding Stop Sign or Red Light


A speeding violation of 1 to 14 mph over the posted speed limit will not be assessed points, IF (a) it is the first violation within any three (3) year period and (b) the ticket is paid through the Voluntary Assessment Center. A Delaware driver can receive a 3-point credit by taking a defensive driving course. This credit is applied to a driver's point total with the satisfactory completion of an approved defensive driving course. Defensive driving courses are valid for three (3) years.


more information coming soon!    

GET EDUCATED - Where Smart Drivers Go. Learn everything you need to know about your traffic ticket.